Roll Your Own

Reviews

Home
Roll Your Own Brand Reviews: 399 ( 0 new within last week )

American Spirit Original Blend Roll Your Own Reviews

There are 12 American Spirit Original Blend Flavor reviews in the database.

  
Posted by
Date
Strength
Taste
Price
Overall
altermanncam
2013-10-27
Medium
Pleasant
High

 

Comments:

Great quality tobacco with an element of sweetness to it. Included papers are of great quality. This is a very nice tobacco to roll with. ~$7 for the pouch, ~$25 for a can.

Report this review as inappropriate

Add your review

Posted by
Date
Strength
Taste
Price
Overall
smokingPAman1990
2013-07-02
Very Strong
Very Pleasant
High

 

Comments:

This is pretty good in a tube injected. Lasts quite a while when lit. Pleasant taste as there are no additives. Buzz factor is a huge bonus because these pack a punch. I have tried them hand rolling and they tend to just be too harsh. I prefer them injected in a tube. A can around where I live is about $26. The can makes around 3/4 of a carton plus or minus one pack. Still save money doing it this way actually. The packs of American Spirit bought on the shelf are just too compacted for me and tend to have an extremely stiff draw. This tastes like the blue pack in a tube. Also, no FSC unlike the store packs. Pleasant smoke for a good price. The only reason I said the price was high is because you have to buy a can at a time which can be costly up front, but it tends to last a long time if you do it correctly and do not smoke multiple packs a day.

Report this review as inappropriate

Add your review

Posted by
Date
Strength
Taste
Price
Overall
ronsen
2012-12-31
Medium
Pleasant
High

 

Comments:

A mundane smoke in a tube. A pleasant smoke in a filterless rollie. Ied with Kendall gold in every thing but price. I can get 3 times as much Kendall Gold for the same price.

Report this review as inappropriate

Add your review

Posted by
Date
Strength
Taste
Price
Overall
collegehippie777
2012-10-21
Very Strong
Pleasant
High

 

Comments:

This was my first RYO tobacco, I like it alot. Strong flavor, if that's what you like. The only drawback is how it will go stale quickly because there are no preservatives. other than that, a very good blend

Report this review as inappropriate

Add your review

Posted by
Date
Strength
Taste
Price
Overall
jumpinjoe
2011-05-15
Strong
Very Pleasant
Very High

 

Comments:

I have smoked now for forty years. Kools were what I started with, then moved to Marlboro. Stuck with Marlboro for almost 27 years. The other day I came across this Natural American Spirit. Decided to get the Perique, roll your own. Good lord, where have these smokes been all of my life?!! First thing that shocked me was the immense flavor. After smoking Marlboros for so long I had grown accustomed to no tobacco flavor, and a chemical residue in my mouth after each smoke (a residue I actually liked). American Spirit is the exact opposite. It is what a cigarette should be all natural flavor, not chemical aftertaste. The other thing I have noticed is that I am hacking a lot less. I don't believe in a healthy cigarette, but these are certainly healthier than any smoke plus cigarette on the market. Thanks American Spirit!

Report this review as inappropriate

Add your review

Posted by
Date
Strength
Taste
Price
Overall
MattParr
2011-05-14
Strong
Pleasant
High

 

Comments:

I am a roll-your-own smoker of about 10-20 per day. I smoked Benson and Hedges Gold cigarettes, but I vowed that when they went past £6 a pack I would switch to roll-your-own. In 2010 they did go past £6 so I stuck to my guns and bought my first ever pouch of tobacco, complete with Rizla, it was Benson and Hedges Rolling Tobacco. Vile stuff, weak and with a very unpleasant taste! I was put off of the idea of roll-your-own, and tried to convince myself that I had only tried one brand. I went through Golden Virginia, Cutters Choice, Amber Leaf and Gold leaf before trying Drum which I smoked for about 6 months before noticing some tobacco in my local shop called 'Natural American Spirit'. I picked it up and tried it. The first thing I noticed is that it is very dry due to the fact no humectants are used for manufacture. I rolled up a cigarette and smoked some of it. I liked the taste, but the smoke was very harsh even for a hardened no-filter smoker like me. I smoked this for around about 3 months before switching back to Drum again.

Report this review as inappropriate

Add your review

Posted by
Date
Strength
Taste
Price
Overall
Lotus1990
2011-04-12
Strong
Very Pleasant
High

 

Comments:

Very good rolling tobacco. Had a pouch a few days ago and smoked a few roll ups. Excellent taste, strong as hell, and very long lasting. Overall, I would say this is probably one of the best rolling tobaccos.

Report this review as inappropriate

Add your review

Posted by
Date
Strength
Taste
Price
Overall
willieterry
2010-05-17
Strong
Pleasant
High

 

Comments:

I'm a cigar and pipe smoker predominantly, but started smoking cigarettes. Camels, to be exact. But then came the FSC and all the price hike, and I wanted to save some money, so I ventured into rolling my own. I started with Drum and Top brand tobacco, and I liked it. (Top, not Drum) Anyway, I started noticing buzz about American Spirit, so I picked up a can of the original blend. I smoked through it, and I gotta say, it took getting used to. But once I did, there's no going back. I use a rolling machine, and filter tips. I don't know where all the poor reviews are coming from, but I suspect its because they need the nicotine and they're not getting it from American spirit. It's important that you get yourself used to it. Once you do, you'll never go back. And believe me, it may be a bit pricier than other rolling brands, but it's still cheaper than store-bought.

Report this review as inappropriate

Add your review

Posted by
Date
Strength
Taste
Price
Overall
Leeloo Dallas
2010-02-26
Strong
Poor
Very High

 

Comments:

Their canned tobacco is not at all like the kind you find in pre-packaged tobacco. Dry, tastes a little burned, and it doesn't smell that great, either. NOT worth the money.

Report this review as inappropriate

Add your review

Posted by
Date
Strength
Taste
Price
Overall
tonalsmoker
2009-08-19
Very Weak
Pleasant
High

 

Comments:

American Spirit as a filtered cigarette just doesn't hit the mark.Let's face it,every time you want a cigarette you have to roll it between your fingers just to loosen the tobacco to smoke it,and the filter steals the thunder of the wholesome tobacco taste.So why am I rating it so high?it's all about the original blend rolling tobacco...I haven't tried the others yet but I'm a full flavor kind of guy.Anyways,I've had additive-free home grown tobacco before and I'll tell you American Spirit Original roll your own is the closest it gets.There's nothing like the taste of a purely natural cigarette,and it's cut nicely too:)

Report this review as inappropriate

Add your review

Posted by
Date
Strength
Taste
Price
Overall
Jon2thejon
2009-06-29
Strong
Tolerable
Fair

 

Comments:

I am a fan of rolling. I roll just about everyday. That is only because it is affordable and has no additives. I recommend packing them just lightly so the drags are just good enough for a great buzz. I am satisfied with every rollie I got out of American Spirit. The papers are very light, just how I like them. Recommended for anyone who has the skill of rolling.

Report this review as inappropriate

Add your review

Posted by
Date
Strength
Taste
Price
Overall
penwright
2009-05-16
Very Strong
Tolerable
Very High

 

Comments:

We used Original Blend American Spirit when we switched from cigarettes to rolling our own, with a machine. My first experience was it tasted ok, but not great. After a short while, my husband and I suffered from sore, dry scratchy throats. We found out it dries super fast. We decided to try a different brand this last time. I am still experiencing dry mouth and throat from using it also. It's like it never goes away no matter how much I drink liquids. I know a lot of people seem to like American Spirit, but, in my opinion, I don't recommend it.

Report this review as inappropriate

Add your review

members login

Search CigReviews
Loading

E-Cig Savings Calculator









E-Cigs Will Save You