Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Kentucky Select

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-29-2012, 08:52 PM

Zarit has a spectacular aura aboutZarit has a spectacular aura about
Default Kentucky Select

Didn't see a thread for Kentucky Select, so I thought I'd start one.

Sizes: 1/2/6/16oz, 5lb.
Blends: Full Flavour (Red), Menthol (Green), Light (Gold), Light Menthol (Blue), Ultra Light (Silver), Organic.

I've tried the Green, Gold and Silver bags so far, all in a Gizeh Silver Tip. I'm not an expert on this, so take review with a grain of salt and keep in mind that everyone's tastes are different.

The Green is a medium bodied smoke with a strong menthol flavour. The pouch I got was far too dry (not quite "turn to dust when you pick it up" but close) and was hot and harsh. A little shower and it was the perfect moisture level for me. Took away the heat and harshness, made it into a rather nice smoke. I'd say the menthol flavour is stronger than that from a Hot Rod Menthol tube, but not as strong as the Hot Rod Super Menthol.

I saw the Gold listed on one site (and of course I can't remember which one) as Smooth rather than Light. It does have a lighter body than the Green but it also incredibly smooth. Only problem is it leaves an after taste unlike any other tobacco I've tried. It's sort of a herbal, floral sort of thing. I didn't find it to be that any worse or more noticeable than the after taste from other tobaccos, but some may find that it's not to their liking, especially if chain smoking.