Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Navigation »Cigarette Forum & Smokers Community > Smokers Forum > RYO - Roll Your Own Cigarettes » Keeping a Carton of MYO Cigarettes Fresh

Keeping a Carton of MYO Cigarettes Fresh

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-28-2011, 11:31 AM

Dirago is on a distinguished road
Default Keeping a Carton of MYO Cigarettes Fresh

Ok first off, I am new here and I am relatively new to the MYO/RYO scene (about 7 months). To start with I use the Fresh Choice Cigarette Machine with the Fresh Choice Tobacco to make cigarettes for my wife and I and a couple of friends of ours (we split the 12 lbs of tobacco). Anyway, I have searched the internet on how to keep your MYO cigs fresh and I only came up with ways to keep the tobacco fresh, not a carton of cigs you have already made fresh.

After much looking I decided to look at a store bought back of cigs and their packaging as they tend to stay fresh. I had to ask myself what is different between a store bought back of smokes and RYO? The answer was the packaging (of course the price and chemicals) was what kept the cigs fresh. If you look at a store bought pack of smokes the first thing you notice is the pack is sealed in sulifane, once the pack is opened you notice the paper backed tinfoil wrapped around the cigs. This is how the manufacture must keep the cigs fresh (plus use of chemicals) I thought and later found to be correct when I experimented. This is how to keep a carton of MYO/RYO cigs fresh:

1. Find some paper backed tinfoil at your local SAMS club or Resturant Supply store or just ask some kid at a local fast food chain that wraps their hamburgers in this type of foil (Wendy's uses this).

2. Line the inside of your empty tube box with the foil leaving enough tinfoil to fold over the top of the 200 cigs you have just made. This will package them in and help keep the cigs from drying out on you.